Modifying Your E-mail Notifications

Every time an important action happens in the directory front or in the Member accounts, eDirectory always notifies the involved person about the action recently done. In this event, the Site Manager does not have to send an e-mail because the application does it for him/her in an automated way.

DOCUMENTATION_CONVENTIONS_img3Let’s say you’re a Member and you created a listing almost a year ago. We all know that listings expire one year after the date of creation (or the date of payment). Tomorrow marks the listing’s one year validity and you are unaware of it. What eDirectory will do is that it will send you an e-mail informing you that your listing will expire tomorrow and you as a Member can take advantage of the renewal. How does this happen? The eDirectory application uses cron jobs capable of automating certain commands or scripts on your site.

Below is the complete list of e-mail notifications used by the application. By default, they are all activated but you as a Site Manager can disable them anytime. The default message for every e-mail notifications is also editable.

  • 30 day renewal reminder – Automatic e-mail sent 30 days before account expiration date to remind listing owners to renew their account.
  • 15 day renewal reminder – Automatic e-mail sent 15 days before account expiration date to remind listing owners to renew their account.
  • 7 day renewal reminder – Automatic e-mail sent 7 days before account expiration date to remind listing owners to renew their account.
  • 1 day renewal reminder – Automatic e-mail sent 1 day before account expiration date to remind listing owners to renew their account.
  • Member Account Create (Site Manager area) – E-mail sent to the listing owner when the Site Manager creates an account for him/her.
  • Member Account Update (Site Manager area) – E-mail sent to the listing owner when the Site Manager modifies the owner’s account in the system.
  • Forgotten Password – E-mail sent to the listing owner informing his/her new password when requested.
  • New Listing – E-mail sent to the listing owner when he/she creates a new listing in the directory.
  • New Event – E-mail sent to the listing owner when he/she creates a new event in the directory.
  • New Banner – E-mail sent to the banner owner when he/she creates a new banner in the directory.
  • New Classified – E-mail sent to the classified owner when he/she creates a new classified in the directory.
  • New Article – E-mail sent to the banner owner when he/she creates a new banner in the directory.
  • Custom Invoice – Custom Invoice e-mail.
  • Active Listing – E-mail sent to the listing owner when the Site Manager activates the listing.
  • Active Event – E-mail sent to the event owner when the Site Manager activates the event.
  • Active Banner – E-mail sent to the banner owner when the Site Manager activates the banner.
  • Active Classified – E-mail sent to the classified owner when the Site Manager activates the classified.
  • Active Article – E-mail sent to the article owner when the Site Manager activates the article.
  • E-mail to Friend – E-mail sent from a user to your friend.
  • Listing Sign-up – E-mail sent to the listing owner when he/she makes the sign-up process.
  • Event Sign-up – E-mail sent to the event owner when he/she makes the sign-up process.
  • Banner Sign-up – E-mail sent to the banner owner when he/she makes the sign-up process.
  • Classified Sign-up – E-mail sent to the classified owner when he/she makes the sign-up process.
  • Article Sign-up – E-mail sent to the article owner when he/she makes the sign-up process.
  • Claimer Sign-up – E-mail sent to the claimer when he/she makes the sign-up process.
  • Claim Automatically Approved – E-mail sent to the claimer when his/her claim is approved automatically.
  • Claim Approved – E-mail sent to the claimer when his/her claim is approved.
  • Claim Denied – E-mail sent to the claimer when his/her claim is denied.
  • Approve Reply – E-mail sent to the item owner when Site Manager approves the reply.
  • Approve Review – E-mail sent to the item owner when the Site Manager approves the review.
  • New Review – E-mail sent to the item owner when his/her item receives a new review.

DOCUMENTATION_CONVENTIONS_img2
To edit / disable an e-mail notification, do the following:

  1. In the top navigation panel, click on the E-mail Notifications menu. After doing this, a page will appear like the one shown below:

    MODIFYING_YOUR_EMAIL_NOTIFICATIONS_img1

  2. Select the e-mail notification that you want to edit by clicking on the Name or the edit icon. After doing this, a page will appear like the one shown below:

    MODIFYING_YOUR_EMAIL_NOTIFICATIONS_img2

  3. To disable the selected e-mail: Check the Disable e-mail option.
  4. To send a copy of the e-mail to a specific address when it is sent to users: In the BCC box, type the e-mail address.
  5. To change the e-mail message format: Choose one from HTML and Text options.
  6. To edit the message content: In the Body textarea, do the necessary changes.

    DOCUMENTATION_CONVENTIONS_img1Beware of deleting the field names (e.g., EDIRECTORY_TITLE, LISTING_TITLE, DAYS_INTERVAL) because these are used by the application in database queries. These field names in capital letters are not part of the actual message. The information that they represent are the ones that will be sent to the Members.

  7. Click on the Next button, and then Save.

DOCUMENTATION_CONVENTIONS_img4
Setting Up The Directory E-mail Address